print-friendly version


The 30th Annual International ACM SIGIR Conference
23-27 July 2007, Amsterdam

Call for Papers

SIGIR is the major international forum for the presentation of new research results and for the demonstration of new systems and techniques in the broad field of information retrieval (IR). The Conference and Program Chairs invite all those working in areas related to IR to submit original research contributions, posters, and proposals for tutorials, workshops, and demonstrations of systems.

SIGIR 2007 welcomes contributions related to any aspect of IR, including:

  • IR Theory and Formal Models
  • Performance, Compression, Scalability, Architectures, Efficiency
  • Content representation, Indexing, Structure, XML, Metadata
  • IR Evaluation, Test collections, Evaluation methods and metrics, Experimental design, Data collection and analysis
  • Interactive IR, User interfaces and visualization, User studies, User models, Task-based IR, User/Task-based IR theory
  • Web IR, Intranet/enterprise search, Citation and link analysis, Adversarial IR
  • Distributed IR, Fusion/Combination
  • Digital libraries
  • Cross-language retrieval, Multilingual retrieval, Machine translation for IR
  • Video and image retrieval, Audio and speech retrieval, Music retrieval
  • Topic detection and tracking, Routing, Content-based filtering, Collaborative filtering, Agents, Spam filtering
  • Question answering, Information extraction, Summarization, Lexical acquisition
  • Text Data Mining and Machine Learning for IR
  • Text Categorization and Clustering
  • Genomic IR, IR in software engineering, IR for chemical structures, Mobile applications

Information on how to submit can be found in the submission guidelines.

Program committee chairs

Charles Clarke (University of Waterloo, Canada)
Norbert Fuhr (University of Duisburg-Essen, Germany)
Noriko Kando (National Institute of Informatics, Japan)

Senior program committee members

Eugene Agichtein (Emory University, USA)
James Allan (University of Massachusetts Amherst, USA)
Ricardo Baeza-Yates (Yahoo! Research, Spain)
Pia Borlund (Royal School of Library and Information Science, Denmark)
Andrei Broder (Yahoo! Inc, USA)
Hsin-Hsi Chen (National Taiwan University, Taiwan)
Gordon Cormack (David Cheriton School of Computer Science, Canada)
Nick Craswell (Microsoft, UK)
Bruce Croft (University of Massachusetts Amherst, USA)
Maarten de Rijke (Informatics Institute, The Netherlands)
Edward Fox (Virginia Tech, USA)
Sanda Harabagiu (University of Texas at Dallas, USA)
Thomas Hofmann (Google Europe, Germany)
Thorsten Joachims (Cornell University, USA)
Rosie Jones (Yahoo! Research, USA)
Jaana Kekäläinen (University of Tampere, Finland)
Diane Kelly (University of North Carolina, USA)
John Lafferty (Carnegie Mellon University, USA)
Mounia Lalmas (Queen Mary, University of London, UK)
Wei-Ying Ma (Microsoft Research Asia, China)
Yoelle Maarek (Google Inc., Israel)
Isabelle Moulinier (Thomson Legal and Regulatory, USA)
Sung Hyon Myaeng (Information & Communications University, Korea)
Douglas Oard (University of Maryland, USA)
Jan Pedersen (Yahoo! Inc, USA)
Keith van Rijsbergen (University of Glasgow, UK)
Stephen Robertson (Microsoft Research, UK)
Stefan Rueger (The Open University, UK)
Ian Ruthven (University of Strathclyde, UK)
Jacques Savoy (University of Neuchatel, Switzerland)
Fabrizio Sebastiani (Istituto di Scienza e Tecnologie dell'Informa, Italy)
Luo Si (Purdue, USA)
Ian Soboroff (NIST, USA)

Important Dates

November 15, 2006
Mentoring program deadline
January 28, 2007
Full research papers due
February 25, 2007
Poster, demonstrations, tutorial, and workshop submissions
March 11, 2007
Doctoral consortium submissions due
April 11, 2007
Notification of acceptance for all submissions
July 23-27, 2007
Conference in Amsterdam