Local and Registration Issues


This email address can be used for local issues (related but not limited to accommodation for instance) and visa requests.

Conference Chairs

Martin Halvey is a Senior Lecturer in the Department of Computer and Information Sciences. His research interests are in interactive information retrieval, collaborative information retrieval, multimodal interaction and human computer interaction.

Ian Ruthven is Professor of Information Seeking and Retrieval at the University of Strathclyde.

Leif Azzopardi is a Chancellor's Fellow / Associate Professor within the Departement of Computer and Information Sciences at the University of Strathclyde. He is particularly interested in describing, predicting and explaining the interaction between users and systems using theory from economics and cognitive science.

Program Chairs


Vanessa Murdock leads a research team at Amazon, working on Alexa.

Pernilla Qvarfordt

Hideo Joho is an Associate Professor in the Faculty of Library, Information, and Media Science at University of Tsukuba, Japan. His research focuses on interactive aspects of search.

Demos and Resources


Jiyin He is a researcher at the National Research Institute of Mathematics and Informatics (CWI) in Amsterdam, the Netherlands. Her research interest is interactive information retrieval, with a focus on understanding and modelling user behavioural patterns in information seeking.

Frank Hopfgartneris Senior Lecturer in Data Science at University of Sheffield. His research to date can be placed in the intersection of information systems (e.g., information retrieval and recommender systems), document analysis and data science.

Doctoral Consortium Chairs


Yashar Moshfeghi is a Chancellor's Fellow in the Department of Computer and Information Sciences at the University of Strathclyde. He is interested in neuropsychological and behavioural aspects of human information interaction and retrieval and leads the Data Science and Analytics research group.

Heather O'Brien is Associate Professor at the University of British Columbia's iSchool (Library, Archival and Information Studies) in Vancouver, Canada.

Workshop Chairs


Suzan Verberne is an Assistant Professor in the Leiden Institute of Advanced Computer Science (LIACS) at Leiden University, the Netherlands. She is affiliated with the Leiden Data Science research program, supervising projects on text mining and information retrieval in many different application domains, often in collaboration with expert users.

Stephann Makri is a Senior Lecturer in Human-Computer Interaction at City, University of London with research interests in information interaction, particularly serendipitous information encountering.

Tutorial Chair


Catherine L. Smith is an Assistant Professor in the iSchool at Kent State University, where she runs the Search Interaction Lab studying query formulation and information literacy.

Publicity Chair

Dr Diane Pennington is a Lecturer in Information Science at the University of Strathclyde's iSchool. She is the Course Director for the MSc in Information and Library Studies, and she leads the Information Engagement area of the iSchool's research group, SiSRG.

Publication Chair


Craig Macdonald is a Lecturer at the University of Glasgow. His research interests encompass efficient yet effective information retrieval, expert search, social media search and venue recommendation.

Student Volunteering Chair

Mateusz Dubiel is a PhD student in the Department of Computer and Information Sciences at Strathclyde University. His research focuses on evaluation and design of conversational search agents.

Sylvain Daronnat is a PhD student in the Department of Computer and Information Sciences at Strathclyde University. His research focuses on Human-Agent collaboration in high-pressured and complex information environment.

Senior Program Committee

  • Ioannis Arapakis, Telefonica Research, Spain
  • Katriina Byström, Oslo Metropolitan University, Norway
  • Robert Capra, University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill, USA
  • Abdigani Diriye, IBM Research Africa, Kenya
  • David Elsweiler, University of Regensburg, Germany
  • Henry Feild, Endicott College, USA
  • Claudia Hauff, Delft University of Technology, the Netherlands
  • Orland Hoeber, University of Regina, Canada
  • Joemon Jose, University of Glasgow, UK
  • Jaana Kekäläinen, University of Tampere, Finland
  • Diane Kelly, University of Tennessee, USA
  • Irene Lopatovska, Pratt Institute, USA
  • Daniel Russell, Google, USA
  • Catherine Smith, Kent State University, USA
  • Mark Smucker, University of Waterloo, Canada

Best Paper Awards Committee

  • Irene Lopatovska, Pratt Institute, USA (chair)
  • Nim Dvir, University of Albany, Canada
  • Ying-Hsang Liu, Charles Sturt University, Australia
  • Dan Russell, Google, US